Posts tagged "User Management"

Removing Sample Data and Users from Correspondence Management Solution

- Mayank Gupta, Computer Scientist at Adobe

 

Adobe LiveCycle Correspondence Management Solution provides some sample collateral and creates some sample users so that developers can start using the application and make use of these samples to know about and learn the product capabilities. It is highly recommended to remove these sample assets and sample users when the solution is deployed on to a production server.

Steps to remove sample assets and sample users:

  1. Removing sample assets by uninstalling them from package manager:
    • Go to http://[hostname:port]/lc/crx (on author instance)
    • Login as admin
    • Click Package Manager
    • Click on Package with name “cm-sampleassets.zip”
    • Click More dropdown in action bar (This action bar has other actions like Edit Build etc.,. , More option is in the right most area of this bar)
    • Click Uninstall
    • Click Uninstall again on confirmation dialog
    • Wait for sometime till you see a message like “Package uninstalled in <some>ms” in the Activity Log
    • Now if you log on to CM Manage Assets UI , you will not see any sample assets. If you are still seeing them then restart the server.
  2. Removing sample users from CRX user administration:
    • Go to http://[hostname:port]/lc/crx (on author instance)
    • Login as admin
    • Click User Administration.
    • Note: Correspondence Management creates Todd Goldman (tgoldman), Caleb Lopez (clopez), Gloria Rios (grios), Frank Kricfalusi (fkricfalusi), Jocelyn Robinson (jrobinson), and Heather Douglas (hdouglas) as the sample users.
    • In the user administration dialog , Navigate to each of these users and click Remove user. Now you cannot log in to the Manage Assets UI with any of the above usernames.

Follow the steps mentioned above in 2 and remove sample users from publish instance as well. There is no need to uninstall sample assets from publish instance as they are installed on author instance only.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Was this helpful? Please rate the content.
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

Just-in-time provisioning of LiveCycle ES2 users

Beginning with LiveCycle ES2 Service Pack 2 (9.0.0.2), LiveCycle ES2 supports just-in-time provisioning of users that don’t yet exist in User Management. Just-in-time (JIT) provisioning creates new users dynamically in User Management once an authentication provider has successfully authenticated their credentials. Additionally, relevant roles and groups are assigned on-the-fly to the new user.

We have published a new TechNote that you can read to understand and implement this feature. This TechNote discusses the following:

  • The need for JIT user provisioning
  • How to implement JIT user provisioning
  • JIT user provisioning: Behind the scenes
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Was this helpful? Please rate the content.
Rating: 9.0/10 (1 vote cast)