The Adobe Design Achievement Awards Announces the 2014 Judges and Board Members

For fourteen consecutive years, the Adobe Design Achievement Awards has celebrated student achievement in the disciplines of technology and the creative arts. The competition recognizes the most promising higher education student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, animators, and filmmakers from around the world.  Now in its 14th year, the contest has received over 30,000 entries submitted from 75 countries. Each year, the contest seeks industry luminaries to judge the thousands of entries received.Adobe Design Achievement Awards trophies

The ADAA Semifinal panelists and official category judges hail from all over the world, representing a wide range of creative expertise, aesthetics and design principles.  Eighteen Semifinal selection panelists from the United States, Canada, Mexico, Egypt, United Kingdom, and Germany, will review the ADAA entries from Session I and Session II.  The panel will select which entries, from each of the eleven categories, to be elevated to Semifinalist status.  The Semifinalist entries will then be reviewed by nine official category judges in New York City, this August.


The ADAA announces the 2014 official category judges:

Nina Boesch of and Ralph Appelbaum Associates, United States / Germany

Matteo Bologna, Mucca Design, United States / Italy

Hamish Campbell, Pearlfisher New York

Alia Hassan, Blue State Digital, New York

Hjalti Karlsson, Karlssonwilker Inc., United States / Iceland

John Madere, of John Madere Photography, United States

J. J. Sedelmaier of J. J. Sedelmaier Productions, Inc., United States

Lita Talarico, School of Visual Arts, United States / Canada

John Vondracek, The String Theory, United States

Read the ADAA judges’ biographies here.

J.J. Sedelmaier, of J.J. Sedelmaier Productions, Inc., United States ADAA 2014 judge

J.J. Sedelmaier, of J.J. Sedelmaier Productions, Inc., United States
ADAA 2014 judge

Returning judge, J.J. Sedelmaier, participated in the Adobe Design Achievement Awards contest in 2003, and will be acting as an official judge again in 2014.  Sedelmaier commented, “I am looking forward to being a judge for the 2014 ADAA’s. There is a strong camaraderie which occurs amongst the judges and I am looking forward to not only the great work, but working with creative industry professionals on the judging panel.”

Watch the ADAA judges in action here.

ADAA winners continue to participate in the program, over a decade later.  Sedelmaier was present in 2003, when Willy Wong was attending Yale University, and chosen to win for his design category. Wong is now the Chief Creative Officer at NYC & Company, the City of New York’s official marketing organization, as well as President of AIGA New York.

Willy Wong is currently serving alongside Stephan Powilat on the ADAA Board.  Powilat was part of a team that won the ADAA Print Communications category in 2006.  Powilat is the Co-founder of LABOR – Modern Communications, an agency based in Mainz, Germany, which has consistently worked on the ADAA creative since 2007.  “Serving on the ADAA board will be an honor, because the contest has been such a great experience; personal, future-oriented, and career-enhancing, for so many years now. First, participating as a student, and aspiring to have our work selected. Then, working on the program’s creative visual, and now, years later, I’m excited to give back to the program, and to the students whom we’ll soon recognize.”

Stephen Powilat of Labor Modern Communications, Germany ADAA 2014 Board member

Stephen Powilat of Labor Modern Communications, Germany
ADAA 2014 Board member

The ADAA announces the 2014 Board Members:

Klaus Delanghe, Howest University, The Netherlands

Penny Ann Dolin, Arizona State University, United States

Jean-Benoit Lévy, Visual Communicator, United States

Brian Lucid, Massachusetts College of Art and Design, United States

Andrew McAllister, OCAD University, Canada

Mike Patterson, Animator and director of music videos and blended media, United States

Andrew Phelps, Rochester Institute of Technology, United States

Stephan Powilat, LABOR, Germany

Read the Board Members’ biographies here.

Submission Session I will close soon, on April 18, 2014.  Students are encouraged to submit now, for a chance at early global recognition.  The semifinalist selection panel will judge early submissions from April 18 through May 18, 2014.  Projects that were completed after May 1, 2013, are still eligible for submission.

Watch the ADAA Overview Video for more information on the contest and how to participate.  Final deadline is June 20, 2014.

One Response to The Adobe Design Achievement Awards Announces the 2014 Judges and Board Members

  1. Connor Dunham says:

    Dear Adobe,

    I am a Graphic Artist who has been using your program; Illustrator since the age of 7, and I am interested in submitting my work for the 2014 Adobe Design Achievement Awards. What email address do I enter my submissions?

    – Connor