Compatibilty and Transition mode in Contribute

Transition and Compatibility Mode

     Wondering why after the migration the Contribute users for the website are not able to connect to the site? What can be the reason?

     Contribute offers two compatibility options to the Site Administrators — one that allows users with earlier versions to work on the website, and one that does not. Following steps can be used to go to the settings:

  • Go to Edit > Administer Websites and select a website.
  • Administer Website dialog box comes up.
  • Select Compatibility from the list on the left.

  Compatibilty options  

     Transition mode: In this mode, users of earlier versions of Contribute can continue working on the website, along with Contribute CS4 users. This lets you evaluate the new version and set up new roles and permissions without disrupting users with earlier versions of Contribute. Site administrators use the Transition mode temporarily for some time after the migration and once they are ready, all users can transition to Contribute CS4 and then Compatibility mode can be enabled.

     Compatibility mode: In this mode, all users must use Contribute CS4. Users with earlier versions cannot work on the website and will get the following error.

Compatibility error message

var addthis_pub=”dmichael”;Bookmark and Share    Adobe Contribute  Contribute Publishing Server