Launch Contribute freshly by deleting Preferences

We hear from users that suddenly Contribute is unable to work smoothly as previously. This could be due corruption of Contribute’s preferences which could due to conflict in n/w or OS. How to recover from that ?
I have seen in few places about deleting a folder under web site might solve … but this is not true. We can try deleting the Preferences of Contribute and check, and yes this has resolved the issue for many.

What happens when Preferences of Contribute is Delete ?

By deleting Contribute Preference and launching it would be like Contribute is freshly installed. All the connections to the websites and Blogs are removed.

If there is a older version of Contribute co-existing then the connection information will Migrate from older version to the newer version while launching, so take care.

Hence before deleting the Preferences take a copy of the drafts  or if possible publish or send them for Edit / Review. Same for the Contribute’s Preference files and folders can be renamed or removed from the actual location and stored in an other.

Also ensure that you have the information to reconnect to the websites and blogs like connection keys and URL information, user name, passwords etc.

 

How to clear the preferences ?

To clear preferences first check the version of Contribute and release name.

On Windows click the menu Help – About Contribute and click on the dialog and note the Version of Contribute. Ex- Version 6.0

Similarly on Mac click the menu Contribute – About Contribute and click on the dialog and note the Version of Contribute.

The release name is the name on Welcome page example Adobe Contribute CS5

 

On Windows

Delete the Preferences in Registry –

  • Open registry  [Start – Run – type “regedit” and click enter]
  • Go to “HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\FOLDER”  and delete the folder  “ Contribute <Version>”

Delete the Preferences in locale –

  • Windows XP :  Go to “C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Local Settings\Application Data\FOLDER”   and delete the folder  “Contribute <Release Name>”
  • Windows 7 and Vista “C:\Users\<username>\Appdata\Local\FOLDER”     and delete the folder  “ Contribute <Release Name>”

 

On Mac

Delete the Preferences in Library –

  • Go to “<username>/Library/Preferences/”   and delete the file  “Adobe Contribute Version Preferences”  OR “Contribute <Version> Preferences” in older versions

Delete the Preferences in locale –

  • Go to “<username>/Library/Application Support/FOLDER/”     and delete the folder  “Contribute <Release Name>”

 

Table with Version number and Release name :-

#

FOLDER Contribute Release Name

Version

1

Adobe Contribute CS5.1

6.1

2

Adobe Contribute CS5

6

3

Adobe Contribute CS4

5

4

Adobe Contribute CS3

4.1

5

Adobe Contribute 4

4

6

Macromedia Contribute 3.11

3.11

7

Macromedia Contribute 3.1

3.1

8

Macromedia Contribute 3

3

9

Macromedia Contribute 2

2

10

Macromedia Contribute 1

1

 


Bookmark and Share    Adobe Contribute  Contribute Publishing Server

Shilpa

Shilpa