How to: Choose which Creative Cloud shared folders you sync

UPDATE

January 21, 2016

The Selective Sync feature, described below, is no longer available due to certain operating system (OS) dependencies which were removed in recent OS versions on Mac. We have removed the user interface on both Mac and Windows rather than maintain a disparate feature set. If you’d like to see the selective feature return please add a comment and tell us and I will share it with the product teams.


 
Selective Sync

Adobe’s Creative Cloud comes with storage and it’s super easy to share a folder with other people. These folders can then be synced to your computer which is very convenient, but what if you don’t want to sync all those shared folders that have been shared with you or don’t want to sync all those shared folders on another computer? The good news is there is now a way to selectively sync shared folders from Creative Cloud.

Benefits

  • Save hard disk space
  • Control which shared folders you sync
  • Let you have different shared folders syncing on all your Creative Cloud enabled computers.

How

  1. Make sure you have:
    1. Version 1.8.0.447 (October 2014) or later of the Creative Cloud for desktop app installed
    2. File syncing turned on
    3. At least one or more shared folders in order to be able turn off syncing for them. Note: A menu will appear only when you have accepted shares that belong to other people. You cannot turn off your own shares.
  2. Locate the Creative Cloud Files directory on your computer. To open the Creative Cloud Files directory from Creative Cloud desktop app, select Assets > Files and click Open Folder. Note: You will need to go one level higher to be able to select the Creative Cloud Files directory itself.
  3. Context click (usually a right click, unless you’re left handed) on the Creative Cloud Files directory and click on the Select Shared Folders to Sync menu, this will show all your shared folders. Now just select the folder you do not want to sync.
  4. To select multiple shared folders, repeat step 3 above and click on the name of each folder you want to stop syncing. Any folder that does not show a tick next to the folder name will not sync and you will also receive a notification once the files have been removed.
  5. To sync a shared folder again that you previously stopped syncing, just repeat step 3 and select the folder you want to sync again. Note: Check that the folder does not have a tick next to it, as that means it is not currently being synced to your computer.

So now you can save disk space on your computer and have more control over what shared folders are synced with Creative Cloud.

Please share this technique with other Creative Cloud users so they can take back control of what shared folders are synced, they’ll thank you for it.

Jonathan Ferman | Product Manager

 


 

Troubleshooting

Hopefully you won’t need this section but now that Shared Folder Selective Syncing has been out in the wild for a few weeks I wanted to provide my top troubleshooting tips:

  1. Ensure you have accepted 1 or more Shared folders. If you do not have any Shared Folders in Creative Cloud there will be no menu or sync options to show. You must have accepted shares that belong to other people. You cannot turn off your own shares.
  2. Ensure you have version 1.8.0.447 (October 2014) or later of the Creative Cloud for desktop app installed, you can check this by going to Preferences > General and clicking the Account tab in side the Creative Cloud for desktop app.Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 15.52.09
  3. Ensure you have File Syncing turned on and that it is not paused. To check click the cog wheel in the top right hand corner and select Preferences > Files and check the File Sync is turned On.
  4. Ensure you have restarted your computer. We’ve had a number of Mac users running Yosemite (10.10) saying they cannot see the the selective syncing menu. It turns out that while they have the latest Creative Cloud for desktops app they have not restarted their Macs and so the menu does not show up. As this is a system level menu it requires a restart to be enabled so please restart your computer and see if the menu becomes visible.
  5. Ensure you are selecting the Creative Cloud Files folder, not inside the Creative Cloud Files folder itself. On a Mac it’s best to go to your Home folder and then Control click (usually right click) on the Creative Cloud Files folder. On Windows use Windows Explorer and select the folder a level above the Creative Cloud files folder to then control click on the Creative Cloud Files folder. Or simply click the cog wheel in the top right hand corner and select Creative Cloud Files and make sure to select The Creative Cloud Files folder itself (not inside the folder) and then Control click for the selective syncing menu.
  6. Ensure you are connected to the Internet, if you are offline and made changes to a Shared Folder they will be synced next time your computer is connected to the Internet, this feature requires an active Internet connection to work.
  7. Still not working? Try the forum or contact Adobe Customer Support.

Comments are closed.