by Julieanne Kost

 Comments (5)

Created

May 6, 2011

If you choose to add images via the operating system to a folder that Lightroom is already aware of (ie you have already imported that folder which had some image in it, but now there are more), Lightroom will NOT automatically display those newly added images. If you want Lightroom to display them, Control (Mac) / Right Mouse (Win) -click on the folder and choose Synchronize Folder.

 

COMMENTS

  • By Peter Jakobs - 6:31 AM on May 6, 2011  

    Sadly, though, some metadata will not be copied via the sidecar files. Besides some plugin metadata, the most notable absense is pick/reject status.

    It would be really helpful to finally see a solution for users who work on a laptop *and* a desktop and, like me, carry a subset of their library on the laptop and the full library on a NAS volume.

    pj

  • By josef kissinger - 6:57 AM on November 30, 2012  

    Is there a way to apply develop presets when you synchronize a folder?

    • By Julieanne Kost - 1:25 PM on December 5, 2012  

      Only if you choose to “Show IMport Dialog Before Importing” – then you can apply the develop settings (on the right side of the import window).

  • By Vincent - 12:02 AM on July 17, 2013  

    How do you make this in lightroom 5 ? Can’t see any synchronize function in LR5 ;(

    • By Julieanne Kost - 8:12 PM on July 17, 2013  

      You can still right mouse click on a folder and select “Synchronize Folder…” in Lightroom 5.