by Julieanne Kost

 Comments (2)

Created

September 8, 2011

The adjustments (settings) made to a virtual copy are stored in the Lightroom catalog.

Note: The settings for the Master file are saved in the Lightroom catalog as well, but can also be saved within the original DNG file (or in a sidecar file if working with proprietary raw files) if, in Catalog Settings > Metadata “Automatically Write Changes to XMP” is enabled and/or if Metadata > Save Metadata to Files is applied to files when finished editing images. To save settings in JPEG, PSD and TIFF files, check “Include Develop settings in Metadata inside JPEG, TIFF and PSD files” in Catalog Settings > Metadata.

COMMENTS

  • By Karla - 12:31 PM on September 24, 2011  

    Oh, gosh, this brings up a concern I have been having. I would like to know for sure about this situation: My computer has Photoshop CS5 and Lightroom 3.3. If I save a file that I have post-processed in my Photoshop CS5 (saving fully to include all versions) and Lightroom, then save that file as a TIFF and/or JPG, can a person with an older version of PSP and with no Lightroom “see” all those changes? Are all those changes, including in Lightroom, visible in her Photoshop CS3 by simply opening the JPG or TIFF? Is this what you are saying, that I must check the “Include…”? What if I am saving these files through my Photoshop, and not in Lightroom? I am quite new to Lightroom so details are constantly catching my attention. Thanks for your blog and videos. They are immensely helpful!

    • By Julieanne Kost - 2:29 PM on September 26, 2011  

      If a person with an older version of Photoshop tries to open a more current version’s file, there will be a problem only if the newer file has features in it that the older version didn’t. For an obvious example, if you save a file in the most recent version of Photoshop that contains a Smart Object, but the person that is trying to open the file with an older version that didn’t have Smart Object then there is going to be a problem and the older version of Photoshop will display a dialog box noting that it doesn’t understand something. In that case, the person with the older version could open the flattened version with the shortcut in this post. .
      If you have LR and open the file into Photoshop (using Edit in Photoshop) then the changes that you make in LR will be reflected in the resulting file (either a PSD or TIFF etc – a pixel based image) and as long as you aren’t using features like i mentioned above, the file will open for them looking the same.