by Julieanne Kost

 Comments (2)

Created

July 26, 2012

Often, I find that the default “before” history state (which is automatically created when the file is imported), is not the state that I want to compare to the “after” or current state. Fortunately,  to compare a different history state, you can simply drag and drop the desired state from the History panel into the “before” preview area. Note: don’t click on the state in the History panel – that will select that state as your current or “after” state: click -drag the state to the Before image.

• Tap the “Y” key to quickly cycle between the Before and After (current state) view.

• Shift + Y toggles the Split screen preview.

And don’t forget, if you reach a point where you like what you’ve done, but want to try a different direction, Command + ‘ (apostrophe) (Mac) | Control + B (Win)  + ‘ (apostrophe) creates a virtual copy of your photograph so that you can explore all of your creative variations.

COMMENTS

  • By Thomas Goetz - 5:12 AM on July 25, 2013  

    Hello Julieanne
    I am working in PS6.0 and missing all my history log in the file, when I save and close (psd) and reopen it. My general history log preferences are sat to ”save the logged items to the metadata”. What is the reason?
    regards Thomas

    • By Julieanne Kost - 2:44 PM on August 5, 2013  

      The History Log in Photoshop will record commands that you do in Photoshop (not ACR) and is saved to an external text file. That is very different from (and can’t be compared to) Lightroom’s ability to save a History of your changes in the Develop Module.