by Julieanne Kost

 Comments (6)

Created

August 5, 2013

When choosing Save As in Photoshop customers typically want to save their files in one of two locations – either back to the folder where the original image resides or, to the same folder that they just saved another file to. For example, you open a file from your trip to Wyoming, retouch it, and want to “Save As”  back to the same folder. Or, you open a file from your trip to Wyoming, retouch it, and want to “Save As” to a different, “retouched photos” folder. If you fall into the first camp (saving to the original folder), in the Preferences > File Handling, be sure to check (enable) “Save As to Original Folder”. If you are in the second camp, uncheck the preference and the operating system will take you to the folder that you last saved to using Photoshop.

COMMENTS

  • By Tom O'Connell - 11:30 AM on August 5, 2013  

    Hi-

    Is this for LR 4 or 5? I have 5 and there is no SaveAs pref in the File Handling section in my preferences???

    • By Julieanne Kost - 3:02 PM on August 5, 2013  

      This post is referring to Photoshop, not Lightroom.

  • By MP Singh - 2:47 PM on August 5, 2013  

    Hi Julieanne
    Thanks for these wonderful tips.
    I have one question regarding saving files via Lightroom—PS workflow.

    If we open a picture from LR to edit in PS, edit in PS, and then just go to Save. It saves the file to original folder and it shows up in LR catalog as TIFF which is fine.
    Now still within PS, working on the same file, if I want to process the same file for a different look and want to save that back to LR as a different file, so that it shows up in LR catalog – How can I do that ?

    Thanks.
    -MP

    • By Julieanne Kost - 2:56 PM on August 5, 2013  
  • By Julieanne Kost - 2:59 PM on August 5, 2013  

    If you do a Save As and save it to the same folder, LR should auto-import it to the catalog. If you save to a different folder at this point, the easiest way to import that file is to “Synchronize” that folder.

  • By Julieanne Kost - 3:00 PM on August 5, 2013  

    Control (Mac) / Right Mouse (Win) -click on the folder and choose Synchronize Folder.