Posts tagged "Synchronize"

September 19, 2014

50/50 – Sync Settings in Photoshop CC

The new Sync Settings feature in Photoshop CC uses your Adobe ID to synchronize your settings between the two software installs allowed in the license agreement (your home and work computer for example). To specify which settings to synchronize, choose Preferences > Sync Settings. Available settings include: Preferences, Workspaces, Actions, Brushes, Swatches, Styles, Gradients, Custom Shapes, Patterns, Contours and Tool Presets.

2014_09_14Sync1

Use the drop down menu in the Advanced area to choose “What to Sync”: “Everything” checks all options, “Custom” allows you to select specific settings, and “Nothing” unchecks all and deactivates the upload/download transfers.

To synchronize the settings from one computer to another:

Select the “master computer” the one that has the modified settings and choose “Upload Settings” (either from Photoshop > Your AdobeID Sign On or Preferences > Sync Settings). This will take all the non-factory settings files (ie. the settings that you have modified) and upload them to your AdobeID’s Creative Cloud account. Any files with the same names will be overwritten; there is no conflict resolution.

• Then, move to the secondary computer (that you want to download the settings onto), and choose “Download Settings” (either from Photoshop > Your AdobeID Sign On or Preferences > Sync Settings). This will take all the settings files* from your Creative Cloud account and download them to the local machine. Any files with the same names will be overwritten; there is no conflict resolution.

Note: *workspaces that are created/uploaded from a different platform will not be downloaded.

Additional Information:

You must have Internet access and be signed in to your Adobe account to sync settings. To sign in, choose Help > Sign In.

• You are always in control of when you sync your settings (i.e. there is not an option to “auto sync settings” – they will only sync when you select “Sync Settings Now”).

• Even if you only have one computer (a single machine/single install) , you can always sync your settings to your Creative Cloud account which can really save time when upgrading your machine or when bad things happen (like a drive goes down that has your settings/applications on it).

• There are settings that are specific to the machine running the application (such as Memory Usage and Scratch Disks options), and these are not included in the synchronization feature.

5:22 AM Comments (2) Permalink
October 17, 2013

Synchronizing Folders in Lightroom

I often download files into a folder, import them into Lightroom and then find that I have additional files to add to that folder. When this happens, I simply copy the additional files into that folder using the operating system. Then, in Lightroom, I Control -click (Mac) | Right Mouse -click (Win) on the folder in the Folder panel and choose Synchronize Folder (or choose Library > Synchronize Folder). In the Synchronize folder dialog, you can choose to display the import dialog to add additional metadata or toggle it off and add any necessary metadata in the Library module.

 

5:26 AM Permalink
December 15, 2011

LR3 – Match Total Exposures

To make a varying series of images appear more “consistently” exposed, select the images (making sure that the most properly exposed image is the “most selected”, and choose Settings > Match Total Exposures” in the Develop module. This command will look at the overall brightness and contrast (as well as some additional in-camera settings such as ISO and shutter speed settings) and attempt to match the series to the most selected image.

5:12 AM Permalink
December 2, 2011

LR3 – Copy and Paste Develop Settings

There are several ways to copy and past settings from one image to another in the Develop module:

• Command + C (Mac) | Control  + C (Win) will display the “Copy Settings” dialog so that you can choose what setting to copy.

• Command +  V (Mac) | Control  +  V (Win) will paste those settings.

• Command + Option + V (Mac) | Control + Alt + V (Win) will paste all the settings from the previously altered photo.

• Command + Shift + S (Mac) | Control  + Shift + S (Win) will display the Synchronize Settings dialog box so that you can choose what settings to synchronize ( you must have multiple images selected to use this shortcut).

• Command + Option + S (Mac) | Control + Alt + S (Win) will synchronize multiple photos with the last copied settings – without displaying the sync dialog box.

• Command + Shift + R (Mac) | Control  + Shift + R (Win) will reset all settings applied to an image.

• Command + Option + Shift + A (Mac) | Control + Alt + Shift + A (Win) will toggle Auto Sync on and off in the Develop module (note: you must have multiple images selected to use Auto Sync.)

5:46 AM Permalink
November 23, 2011

Video Tutorial – Quick Tip – How to Add Photos to a Folder in Lightroom.

In this quick tip (Synchronizing Photos in Lightroom), you’ll learn how to synchronize a folder so that Lightroom can add new photos to a previously imported folder.

 

6:10 AM Permalink