Posts tagged "XMP Sidecar Files"

September 8, 2011

LR3 – Where are Settings Saved for Virtual Copies?

The adjustments (settings) made to a virtual copy are stored in the Lightroom catalog.

Note: The settings for the Master file are saved in the Lightroom catalog as well, but can also be saved within the original DNG file (or in a sidecar file if working with proprietary raw files) if, in Catalog Settings > Metadata “Automatically Write Changes to XMP” is enabled and/or if Metadata > Save Metadata to Files is applied to files when finished editing images. To save settings in JPEG, PSD and TIFF files, check “Include Develop settings in Metadata inside JPEG, TIFF and PSD files” in Catalog Settings > Metadata.

4:34 AM Permalink
September 7, 2011

LR3 – Questions (and Answers) from Yesterdays Post About Metadata

1) Is there a way to make the Caption field in the Metadata panel larger?

Yes. You can select the “Large Caption” view from the drop down menu in the Metadata panel header (to the left of the word Metadata).

2) Are an image’s Develop Settings saved in the metadata of an image?

By default Lightroom saves changes made to an image in the catalog. I would suggest, however that you also choose to copy the information from the catalog into the individual files. To do this, either check “Automatically Write Changes to XMP” in Catalog Settings > Metadata and/or select Metadata > Save Metadata to Files when finished editing images. Either way, the Develop settings will be saved in a sidecar file for proprietary raw files, inside a DNG file and inside a JPEG, PSD and TIFF file if you have enabled “Include Develop settings in Metadata inside JPEG, TIFF and PSD files” in Catalog Settings > Metadata.

3) Is the History saved in an image’s metadata?

No, the History (in the Develop Module) is saved only in the Lightroom catalog.

 

4:10 AM Permalink
August 5, 2011

Video Tutorial – Saving Changes (Metadata) to Files in Lightroom

Command (Mac) / Control (Win)  + S copies any changes made to a photograph from LR’s database into individual DNG, JPEG, PSD, and TIFF files (or XMP sidecar files for proprietary raw files). Note: the data (change) is also kept in the Lightroom database). To automatically write changes into files (or into XMP sidecar files) choose Catalog Settings > Metadata > Automatically Write Changes into XMP. Click below to watch a 10 minute in-depth movie about this process.

Saving Changes to your Photographs in Lightroom 3

In this episode, Julieanne Kost will explain how changes made to photographs are saved automatically to the Lightroom Catalog. Then Julieanne will demonstrate how to use both the “Save Metadata to Files” command as well as the “Automatically write changes to XMP” Catalog Setting to push changes made to photographs from the catalog into individual files (or sidecar files) so that they can be read and utilized within additional applications such as Adobe Bridge.

 

 

 

4:34 AM Permalink
May 19, 2011

LR3 – Viewing Changes/Corrections Made to Photographs in Bridge/Adobe Camera Raw/Photoshop

Lightroom can interpret and apply changes made to photos in Bridge/Adobe Camera Raw/Photoshop (such as the addition of metadata and/or any changes made to color/tone/etc.) and vice versa. In order for this to go smoothly, in Bridge make sure that the  Camera Raw Preferences (under the Bridge menu on Mac, the Edit menu on Windows) are set to: Save image settings in: Sidecar “.xmp” files (not the Camera Raw database).

When these “changed/corrected” files are imported into Lightroom, you will not see the changes in the Import dialog box but Lightroom will read the .xmp sidecar file while importing and show you the changes/corrections made to the file in the Grid view.  Note: if you are working with the DNG file format, you will see the changes/corrections made to the images in Bridge/Adobe Camera Raw/Photoshop in the Import dialog box.

If you make changes/corrections to images in Bridge/Adobe Camera Raw/Photoshop to files that have already been imported into Lightroom, Lightroom will NOT automatically update the metadata. Instead, a small icon will appear in the upper right corner of the photo cell (in the Grid View in the Library module) warning that the file has changed outside of the application. To update the file either click on the icon and choose “Import Settings from Disk” or select the photo(s) and choose Metadata > Read Metadata from File. Note: sometimes it can take a few moments for the warning icon to appear so if I know that I want Lightroom to read the changes, I simply click Metadata > Read Metadata from File.

 

4:56 AM Permalink