Spam Attacks? Here is my blacklist

I noticed that a lot of weblogs in the community are getting spammed today. I went through the same attack about a week ago (1200 spams in 24 hours). I use MT-Blacklist to protect against spam and it works pretty well.

So, in order to help everyone getting spammed today, I am publishing my weblog's black list. If you are using MT Blacklist, you can add them to your system in the MT Blacklist admin.

This list will automatically be updated as I add new URLs to it. Also, it is possible that there are some false positives in the list. If so, just let me know about them, and I will check them out.

One note, the current version of MT Blacklist does not work with the latest version of Movable Type (2.66). A new version of MT Blacklist should be out soon that fixes the issues.

Comments

  1. January 19, 2004 9:50 PM
  2. January 19, 2004 11:26 PM
  3. January 19, 2004 11:55 PM
    Dear Mike (and Scott), I noticed that Mario Klingermann's site, quasimondo-dot-com (I was prevented from sending this comment in because I typed it literally!), is on your lists. This has to be a false positive! Mario is a sharp guy and he posts a lot of good info. -jonathan
  4. January 19, 2004 11:57 PM
    Nice site! (hee hee) Christian
  5. mike chambers
    January 20, 2004 12:58 AM
    re : quasimondo good catch. I removed it from the list. mike chambers mesh@macromedia.com
  6. January 20, 2004 1:31 AM
    Mike, I noticed you have a lot of entries that could more easily be handled by a simple regex pattern (e.g., all the black foxes stuff). If you use a regex, you're going to catch future spam as well as current spam. I give an example of blocking subdomains here: http://www.corfield.org/blog/past/2004_01.html#000269
  7. January 20, 2004 1:33 AM
    p.s. my blacklist is here (with a bunch of subdomain regex blockers): http://www.corfield.org/blacklist.txt
  8. mike chambers
    January 20, 2004 1:54 AM
    Sean, Thanks. Yeah, it could be vastly simplified with regex. The URLs were added automatically though by MT Blacklist, so I don't really spend too much time on it. mike c
  9. Cesar Tardaguila
    January 20, 2004 8:28 AM
    Hey! I'm also in some of the blacklists. Maybe my blog is not too good, but... Please, check it. The url is design-nation-dot-net
  10. mike chambers
    January 20, 2004 1:07 PM
    >design-nation-dot-net good catch. I removed it from the list. mike chambers mesh@macromedia.com
  11. aSH
    January 20, 2004 1:57 PM
    Mike: I think that the d d.i t in your list should be handled with a regex patern. If I try something like: "and then I add + it..." I'll be banned.
  12. January 20, 2004 5:30 PM
    Thanks, Mike!
  13. Numit
    February 21, 2004 8:20 AM
    Yeeeahd, it's csool
  14. Bter
    February 25, 2004 6:01 AM
    astalavistsa

Post a comment




Remember Me?

(you may use HTML and Quickcode tags for style)