Be cautious when receiving email messages purporting to offer a download of a new version of Adobe® Reader® or Acrobat® software sent by entities claiming to be Adobe. Many of these emails require recipients to register and/or provide personal information. Please be aware that these emails are not being sent by Adobe or on Adobe’s behalf.
If you receive any email offers asking you to download or purchase Reader 2011 or Acrobat 2011, please delete the email immediately without clicking any of the links. These are phishing scams aimed at distributing malicious software and illegally gathering personal information.
Adobe Reader, in particular, is free software available for download directly from the Reader download page on the Adobe website; it is not available in any other manner via download, including via email.
Adobe strongly recommends that users follow security best practices by installing the latest security updates as the best defense against those with malicious intent. The majority of attacks we see are exploiting software installations that do not have the latest security updates.
Note: While the vast majority of reports we receive on these email phishing scams reference Adobe Reader or Acrobat, on occasion we are seeing similar scams referring to other Adobe products, including Adobe Flash® Player software. Always exercise caution and follow security best practices when receiving emails from unknown or untrusted sources..


This email address info@adobe-direct.com has offered me CS5 at half price. The reply address is Adobe Systems <1716866-390801z@adobe-direct.com. Google could not find url adobe-direct.com. I wish I could find a better way to alert Adobe, but it's bloody near impossible to contact companies directly these days.
I’ve let our legal team know about the address you gave me.
I live in the Netherlands, and I’m getting the similar promotional email messages delivered to my Gmail spam folder. This is in the Email Header:
QUOTE
from Adobe Systems info@adobe-direct.com
reply-to Adobe Systems
to
date 21 September 2011 11:47
subject Organiseer uw bestanden in een verzorgde PDF!
mailed-by b2b.innovyx.net
Signed by adobe-direct.com
hide details 11:47 (4 hours ago)
Images are not displayed.
Display images below
UNQUOTE
Their website is still promoting Creative Suite CS4:
http://www.adobe-direct.com/creativenews/
Just their main domain name gives an error in German:
http://www.adobe-direct.com/
QUOTE
Die angeforderte Ressource wird bereits verwendet.
UNQUOTE
And their domain name registration looks like an official Adobe registration. Except for the name servers.:
http://whois.domaintools.com/adobe-direct.com
Compare that to Adobe’s real registration of adobe.com:
http://whois.domaintools.com/adobe.com
BTW, it’s almost Happy 25th Birthday to Adobe.com and Adobe Illustrator.
Robert
Sorry you’re getting the spam… and thanks for the birthday wishes.
Your welcome.
And no worries about the spam messages. That’s part and parcel of the internet. We just have to keep fighting.
Got another one this morning, trying to look official, offering a “free” ugrade to a 2012 version of Acrobat Reader with the subject line “Upgrade Adobe Acorbat Reader 2012 For Your PC And MAC” and linking to the website http://www.adobe-acrobat-2012-download.com/. The domain registration information constantly changes. The site requires a registration routine that eventually gets you to a place to put in credit card number in order to “join” something in order to get the software free. A scam of course.
It turns out every email that I thought was just regular Adobe news is actually from adobe-direct.com. It makes me wonder how they got my email address and for how long.
[[Hi Greg - at some point you probably checked a box that said "it's ok for Adobe to send me news" - adobe-direct.com is a URL used by our marketing partner - this is official Adobe news.-lori]]
I’ve received multiple phishing scams recently. I tried forwarding them to phishing@adobe.com and spoof@… but neither address works. This is a normal mechanism for reporting–PLEASE publish the address to report them, or ADD the most likely candidates. Thanks!
[[piracy@adobe.com is your best bet - and THANK YOU for your efforts to get these emails to Adobe. - lori ]]
Just to add another URL to the list
http://www.acrobat-pdf-2012.com
I just received my first ever Adobe phishing email from:
acrobat@adobe-systems.com
The subject line is “Action Required: Upgrade Adobe Acrobat Reader 2012 For Your PC And Mac.”
Shameless!
RES
Well… that’s not us. It’s a scam.