Preview – Collaborate on Creative Assets Creative Cloud
Today is an exciting landmark with Creative Cloud, you can now share any folder that is synced from your desktop with the Creative Cloud service, privately with another member of the Creative Cloud. This can be performed from two places, either from your desktop Creative Cloud folder, or from within the Creative Cloud web site.
On the Creative Cloud desktop from your computer (either on Finder on the Mac or Explorer on Windows), you can now right click at the folder level, and choose “Add Collaborators” to people to share this folder privately with other members.
Once this has been chosen, you will be sent to the Creative Cloud web view for this folder, where you can add a user by their Adobe ID.
To add people in to the folder collaboration, just add their Adobe ID email address and click “Invite”
Once this has been completed, the user will be sent an invitation (vie email, the Creative Cloud Desktop app and within the Creative Cloud web view), where they will need to accept the invitation to join the folder. Once the invitation has been accepted, the folder and is contents will become part of their folders and will be sync to their desktop via the Creative Cloud app (if it is running and file sync is turned on).
You will see a screen similar to the following, allowing you to add members to the collaboratoration.
Removal of the collaborator is easy, clicking the “X” by the side of their name and clicking the red button. In this case “Remove invitation” is shown, but may change based upon where the invitation is in the system (i.e. if the person has or has not accepted the invitation).
Folders that are part of the collaboration mechanism will have a different look on the folder system (marked in Red).
On the Creative Cloud web site, it will look similar (marked in Red below), clicking on this icon will open up who is collaborating on this folder, also the owner is able to remove people and add other people to collaborate.
There is no locking and access control system with creative assets. If two people open the same file and save at the same time, then the last change will be the one that is recorded. Once a change has been made, applied to the shared folder, the contents will be synced and replaced on the web, the other collaborators will get the new version , both on the web view as well as synced to the desktop via the Creative Cloud desktop application.
The Creative Cloud will store the changes within a single file at the Creative Cloud web level, and at any point can be rolled back with a 10 day rolling window.
Once the asset is opened on the Creative cloud web view (as shown below), there is an activity tab, along with the activity stream on the right hand side of the screen (marked Blue below).
By clicking on the version that the asset needs to be rolled back to (Marked Brown), then choosing Restore (marked Red), will update the web view, as well as the assets within the collaborators folders (for each collaborating individual). The desktop assets will also be changed to the new version as well. All versions will stay associated to the file and can be moved backwards and forwards within the time window (10 days).
Also, to get access to this feature or to share assets with people that are not a subscribers to the Creative Cloud, a free Creative Cloud account with a 2GB storage allowance is available, and has access to collaborate on shared folders as well, and is available to sign up to here.
As you can see this will enable collaboration on assets within the Creative Cloud, including Layers on Photoshop PSD , TIFF files, Illustrator files etc etc. We believe this is the next chapter in collaboration on creative assets in the modern world.
If you are not a member of Creative Cloud and are thinking about it and would like to give it a go, or want to sign up, then head over here to set up your plan type.
Share on Facebook