Archive for December, 2009

Adobe Software and Avatar

In this video, hosted on Adobe TV featuring Jon Landau, Producer of “Avatar“, he describes how Adobe software was used throughout the production of the film.  

tweetmeme_url = ‘http://blogs.adobe.com/rjacquez/2009/12/adobe_software_and_avatar.html’;
tweetmeme_source = ‘rjacquez’;

This is a proud moment for all of us at Adobe, who work passionately on these amazing products and hopefully an inspiration to our customers, who continue to push the limits of what’s possible using our Technologies.

Here’s my favorite quote from Producer Jon Landau:

“One of the great things about what Adobe does with its Suite of products, is they give you everything you need to complete your whole process, from concept to finish”

I hope you enjoy seeing Avatar in the theater and this video, and Thank You for using our Adobe products!

,,,,,

Social Media in Technical Communication: Matthew Ellison interviews RJ Jacquez

In September, I had the opportunity to travel to the UK to attend and speak at the Technical Communication UK conference, where there were great discussions around the impact Social Media is having on Technical Communication.  

tweetmeme_url = ‘http://blogs.adobe.com/rjacquez/2009/12/social_media_in_technical_comm.html’;
tweetmeme_source = ‘rjacquez’;

When I returned from the conference, I received an invitation to be interviewed by Matthew Ellison for this quarter’s iSTC Communicator Journal on this very topic.

I have asked permission to post the interview here and I thank
Marian Newell and her entire team for allowing me to do so. I also thank Matthew Ellison for the opportunity to share my thoughts on the importance for Technical Communicators to embrace Social Media.

Below I have embedded the interview in PDF format. To download the PDF, click Menu and select Download or Share. To display the file in Full Screen mode, click the up-pointing arrow, and the Escape key to exit. Both of these options are highlighted here:

Also highlighted here are the previous and next page navigation buttons, located at the bottom of the embedded PDF:


Related Posts:

 

,,,,,,

List of Adobe Captivate Users on Twitter

On the heels of a very successful post, A Growing List of Technical Communicators on Twitter I published and also made into a Twitter list HERE, I’m starting a similar list for connecting Adobe Captivate users who are active on Twitter.  

tweetmeme_url = ‘http://blogs.adobe.com/rjacquez/2009/12/adobe_captivate_users_on_twitt.html’;
tweetmeme_source = ‘rjacquez’;

In fact, one of the questions I see on Twitter from new users is “Are there any Captivate users out there?” so it’s my hope to also use this list as a resource I can point Tweeps to, who are asking these questions.

If you want to add yourself to this list, please leave a message below, including your Full Name and Full Twitter URL address and I will be happy to add you to it. For those just getting started, I have a running list of Twitter best practices HERE.

NAME TWITTER USERNAME

RJ Jacquez (that’s me)

http://twitter.com/rjacquez
Rick Zanotti http://www.twitter.com/rickzanotti
Jenise Cook http://www.twitter.com/jenisecook
Ricardo Santos http://www.twitter.com/Ricas_gti
John Daigle http://www.twitter.com/hypertexas
Rick Stone http://twitter.com/captiv8r
Michael Withrow http://www.twitter.com/mikeopedia
Lieve Weymeis http://twitter.com/Lilybiri
Randy DeLay http://Www.Twitter.com/travelinrad
Nandini Gupta http://www.twitter.com/nandinizg
Joe Deegan http://www.twitter.com/joe_deegan

Ole Kristensen

http://www.twitter.com/ole_kristensen
Brian S. Friedlander http://twitter.com/assistivetek
Mark Siegrist http://twitter.com/marksiegrist
Michael Lund http://twitter.com/cpguru_com
Jana U http://twitter.com/janau

Aaron Chase

http://twitter.com/atchase
Richard Snow http://twitter.com/ricksnowaputi
Jan Van Belle http://twitter.com/jvbelle

Steve Howard

Http://www.Twitter.com/stevehoward999
Matthew Bibby  http://twitter.com/mfubib
Mark Chrisman http://twitter.com/badsquare
Bobby Rafferty http://www.twitter.com/bobbyworld

Shoshana Kleiman

http://www.twitter.com/shoshanak
Colum McAndrew http://twitter.com/robocolumn
Lesley Hamilton http://twitter.com/lahamilton32

Lisa Richardson

http://twitter.com/DoktaDivah

Tricia Ransom

http://twitter.com/TriciaRansom

D.B. Cupuro

http://www.twitter.com/cupuro
Christine Brouillard http://www.twitter.com/cebrouillard
Greg Sweet http://www.twitter.com/gps03
Brad Meyerhoff http://twitter.com/bradmeyerhoff
Maureen Rakel http://twitter.com/HP_UX_Docs
Deborah http://twitter.com/debelzie

Jamie Lewis

http://twitter.com/jlewis116
Jason Polete http://twitter.com/jpolete

Josh Cavalier

http://www.twitter.com/joshcav

Nicole Gagliardi

http://twitter.com/5StarDeveloper
Kevin Stagg http://www.twitter.com/kstagg
Terri Barnes http://twitter.com/ldcterri
Josh Saylor http://twitter.com/offici8
Jen Ludwiczak http://twitter.com/jenludwiczak

Bryan Sherman

http://www.twitter.com/bshermcincy
Karen Siegel Fitting http://twitter.com/KarenFitting
Habeeb Http://www.twitter.com/d0cster

Wanda Simpson

http://twitter.com/wls1961
Jay Russo http://twitter.com/jay97russo
Wim Hooghwinkel http://twitter.com/idtp
JFDragon http://www.twitter.com/jfdragon

Doug MacLachlan

http://twitter.com/dougmaclachlan
jun asis http://twitter.com/junasis
Matt Brewer http://twitter.com/mattbrew
Carl Chapman http://twitter.com/carlctech

Dave Howard

http://twitter.com/davHwrd
Jeff Goldman http://www.twitter.com/minutebio
Thejas http://twitter.com/vrthejas
Jason High http://www.twitter.com/RWCOSJason
Kevin Siegel http://www.twitter.com/iconlogic
Tom Adams http://www.twitter.com/aimcbt

Volker Kunze

www.twitter.com/VKunze
Knut Collin http://twitter.com/knutc

Ken Moir

http://twitter.com/KenMoir
Bob Cunningham http://twitter.com/rgcunningham
Matt Sullivan http://twitter.com/mattrsullivan
Tom Aylott http://twitter.com/aylott
Veronica Herrera http://twitter.com/vrnchrrr
Ed Martino http://twitter.com/ermphd

Brian Hayashi

http://twitter.com/connectme
Chester Stevenson http://twitter.com/chet_stevenson
Wendy Phillips http://twitter.com/retrogrrl
Karl Goddard http://twitter.com/karl_goddard/
David Knopf http://www.twitter.com/DavidAKnopf
Brent Arnold http://www.twitter.com/iBrent
Rob Bartlett http://www.twitter.com/robbartlett
Chris Davis http://twitter.com/chrisdavistech
Michael Abrams http://www.twitter.com/mikeabrams
Adriana Harper http://twitter.com/gramstypewriter
Pam Coleman http://twitter.com/pam_brandpointe

Yamen Al-Haj

http://twitter.com/yamenalhaj
Dave Gibson http://www.twitter.com/davecgibson
Tony Hartsfield http://twitter.com/tlhartsfield
Patrick Masters http://www.twitter.com/pmasters8941
Theresa Shelton http://twitter.com/tshelts
Lena Nozizwe http://twitter.com/lenanozizwe
Mugdha Vairagade http://twitter.com/mugdhav
Brian Giambalvo http://www.twitter.com/briangiambalvo
Cana Nudi http://twitter.com/educatore
Karissa Enger http://twitter.com/karissakim208
Dave Halvorson  http://twitter.com/halvorsd
Meredith Maples http://www.twitter.com/memaples
   

Related Posts:

 

,,,,

A Growing List of Technical Communicators on Twitter

I was inspired to publish this post by a conversation happening now on
the Technical Communication Professionals
(techcommpros) forum, entitled “Are you on Twitter?” which was started by Paula R. Stern (@writepoint)
from WritePoint Ltd.
 

tweetmeme_url = ‘http://blogs.adobe.com/rjacquez/2009/12/a_growing_list_of_technical_co.html’;
tweetmeme_source = ‘rjacquez’;

One of the most watched eSeminar recordings that I have published is “Twitter for Technical Communicators” and I continue to see more and more Technical Communicators join Twitter, which is extremely exciting considering how passionate I am about this profession and about the need for Technical Communicators to embrace the Social Media revolution.

Having said that, I have decided to compile a list of Technical Communicators on Twitter in order to highlight their work, encourage others to join Twitter, and to follow each other.

I will start with the Twitterers who have listed their usernames on the techcommpros thread. If you want to add yourself to this list, please leave a message below, including your Full Name and Full Twitter URL address and I will be happy to add you to it. For those just getting started, I have a running list of Twitter best practices HERE.

 NAME TWITTER USERNAME

Paula R. Stern

http://twitter.com/writepoint
Sue Heim http://twitter.com/sue_sd
RJ Jacquez (that’s me) http://twitter.com/rjacquez
Mike Starr http://twitter.com/MikeStarrWriter
David Farbey http://twitter.com/dfarb
Bill Swallow http://twitter.com/techcommdood
Arroxane Eber http://twitter.com/Arroxane
Susan Modlin http://twitter.com/smodlin
Mike McCallister http://twitter.com/workingwriter
Michael O’Neill http://twitter.com/mojoneill

Jack DeLand

http://twitter.com/MaxWedge426
Susan W Gallagher http://twitter.com/susanwg
Gordon McLean http://twitter.com/onemanwrites
Laura Lemay http://twitter.com/lemay
Carol Anne Wall http://twitter.com/EmDashProf
Alan Houser http://twitter.com/arh
Linda Urban http://twitter.com/lindaurban
Nandini Gupta http://twitter.com/nandinizg
Ed Marsh http://twitter.com/edmarsh
Michael Opsteegh http://twitter.com/StubbornlyWrite
Samartha Vashishtha http://twitter.com/samarthav
Mark Tamblyn http://twitter.com/marktamblyn
John Ellam http://twitter.com/John_Ellam
Mathew Cherian http://twitter.com/mathew_cherian
Ben Minson http://twitter.com/gryphmount
Rachel Peters http://twitter.com/rachelhpeters
Peggy Harvey http://twitter.com/paharvey
Maureen Rakel http://twitter.com/HP_UX_Docs

Ed Martino

http://twitter.com/ermphd
Donna Weaver http://twitter.com/ddweaver7
Colum McAndrew http://twitter.com/robocolumn

Shoshana Kleiman

http://twitter.com/shoshanak

Rachel Houghton

http://twitter.com/rjhoughton
Sujith Kumar Mallath http://twitter.com/vcsujith
Linda Furlet http://twitter.com/planosoprano
Susan Modlin http://twitter.com/smodlin
Rhonda Bracey http://twitter.com/cybertext
Jan Wright http://twitter.com/windexing
Kath Bowman http://twitter.com/kathbowman

Richard Mateosian

http://twitter.com/xrmxrm
Mousumi Rao http://twitter.com/mousumirao
Guy K. Haas http://twitter.com/swexegete
Walter Hanig http://twitter.com/walterhanig
Matt Sullivan http://twitter.com/mattrsullivan
Rahul Prabhakar http://twitter.com/rahulprabhakar
Peter Grainge http://twitter.com/petergrainge
Beth Agnew http://www.twitter.com/professorsan

Dianne Volek

http://twitter.com/leaderslibrary
John Daigle http://twitter.com/hypertexas
Christie Fidura http://twitter.com/cfidurauk
Donald Hines http://twitter.com/hineswriter
Rick Stone  http://twitter.com/captiv8r
Rajshree http://twitter.com/techwritinglabs
Anne Gentle http://twitter.com/annegentle
Nick Tompkins www.twitter.com/tompsk
Ellis Pratt www.twitter.com/ellispratt
Steve Lagreca http://twitter.com/slagreca
Al Hood http://twitter.com/ahood50
Aaron Davis and Scott Nesbitt http://www.twitter.com/dmnguys
Avi Hein http://twitter.com/avihein
Emma Quigley http://twitter.com/emquigley
Heather Rinke http://www.twitter.com/hrinke

Yossi Rosoff

http://twitter.com/YossRosoff
Sam http://twitter.com/plaindocs
Jonathan Lifschitz http://twitter.com/buduel
Alice Jane Emanuel http://twitter.com/alicejanee
Yitzhak Teutsch  http://twitter.com/YTeutsch
Sulakshana  http://twitter.com/sulak99
Tony Chung  http://twitter.com/techcom
Maya Regev http://twitter.com/mayaregev
Karan Sachar http://twitter.com/karandeepsachar
Yaakov Simon http://twitter.com/rebyaakov
Dave Howard http://twitter.com/davHwrd
Brenda Huettner http://twitter.com/bphuettner
Lance Robert http://twitter.com/lancerobert
STC San Diego http://twitter.com/stcsandiego
Kevin Siegel http://twitter.com/iconlogic
Barb Binder http://twitter.com/barbbinder
Peter Gold http://twitter.com/protographer
Heather Rinke http://www.twitter.com/hrinke
David Kowalsky http://twitter.com/davkow
Sue Collins http://twitter.com/jewelry4sue
Rebecca Moffitt http://www.twitter.com/becs_tweets
Janet Swisher http://twitter.com/jmswisher
Bryan Sherman http://twitter.com/bshermcincy
Raghuram http://twitter.com/pragram
Cheryl Landes http://twitter.com/landesc
Simon Bate http://www.twitter.com/simonbate
Julio Vazquez http://twitter.com/juliov27612
Vinish Garg http://twitter.com/vingar
Theresa Cameron http://twitter.com/intecommunity
Suhasini http://twitter.com/suhasini

Ivan Walsh

http://twitter.com/ivanwalsh

Evelyn Yoder

http://twitter.com/appsWhisperer
Sulakshana http://twitter.com/Sulakshana
Amanda Caley http://twitter.com/caleychameleon
Prem Garudadri http://twitter.com/techwriter09
Paul K. Sholar http://twitter.com/bkwdgreencomet
Neeraj Jain http://www.twitter.com/neerajjain8
Kirsty Taylor http://twitter.com/kirstyt

STC Pittsburgh

http://twitter.com/stcpgh

Robin Davidson

http://twitter.com/sixdegreespgh
Ronit Goldstand http://twitter.com/rgoldstand

Caroline Boyle

http://twitter.com/caroboyle
Larry Kunz http://twitter.com/larry_kunz
Subhajyoti http://twitter.com/diegostrikes
Rich Maggiani http://twitter.com/richmaggiani

Ed Marshall

http://twitter.com/EdMarshall
Diana Ost http://twitter.com/etechwriter
Barbara Coleman http://twitter.com/Angelwomyn
Paul Mueller http://twitter.com/Paul_UserAid
Char James-Tanny http://twitter.com/CharJTF
Marie-Louise Flacke http://twitter.com/Flacke
Michael Withrow http://www.twitter.com/mikeopedia
Mary Forde http://www.twitter.com/knowmatter
Christine Brouillard http://www.twitter.com/cebrouillard
Michael Hunsberger http://twitter.com/mhunsberger

Marlon Ceballos

http://twitter.com/adobexpert

Alyssa Fox

http://www.twitter.com/afox98
Alan J. Porter http://twitter.com/alanjporter
Florence Dujardin http://www.twitter.com/afdujardin

Elizabeth John

http://twitter.com/liz_j

Kathy Holmes

http://twitter.com/kathyholmes

Brett Johnson

http://twitter.com/mrscripter
Debbie http://twitter.com/debbiedocs
Adriana Harper http://twitter.com/gramstypewriter
Habeeb Http://www.twitter.com/d0cster
Neal Dench http://twitter.com/ndench
Vidhyalakshmi K http://www.twitter.com/VidhyalakshmiK
Richard Pineger http://twitter.com/rpineger
Joe Welinske http://twitter.com/jwelinske
Gil Vinokoor http://twitter.com/vinokoor  
Laurin Marden http://twitter.com/lmardennh
Hamish Blunck http://twitter.com/hamishblunck
Mugdha Vairagade  http://twitter.com/mugdhav
Tony O’Connell http://twitter.com/tonyoconnell
Lisa Adams http://twitter.com/lisa34play

Catherine Hibbard

http://twitter.com/WritingTechDocs
Pooja Joshi http://twitter.com/poojavinish
Reinhild Freitag http://twitter.com/REFreitag

Christina Eftekhar

http://twitter.com/cseftekhar 
Deborah Sauer http://twitter.com/DeborahSauer
Patty Blount www.twitter.com/pattyblount
Traci Pearson http://twitter.com/PearsonTechComm
Michelle Lentz http://twitter.com/writetechnology
Phylise Banner http://twitter.com/Phylisebanner
Vishal Gupta http://twitter.com/vishgupt
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

Related Posts:

 

,,,

Adobe AIR for Technical Communicators: Recording Available

Yesterday (12/3/09) I hosted an exciting eSeminar entitled “Adobe AIR for Technical Communicators” and I would like to thank everyone who participated in the live event, and for those who weren’t able to make it, the recording is now available.  

tweetmeme_url = ‘http://blogs.adobe.com/rjacquez/2009/12/adobe_air_for_technical_commun.html’;
tweetmeme_source = ‘rjacquez’;

Here are some of the topic we covered in the session:

  • Fundamental shift in the way people experience ideas and information
  • Social Media has redefined communication
  • User-generated Content
  • The explosion of Information
  • Meeting Web 2.0 User Experiences
  • Experience Matters more than ever
  • Are we simply delivering content or Captivating Audiences?
  • The need for going beyond Tri-pane Help
  • What Makes an Experience Engaging? A.
    Accessible,
    Collaborative,
    Compelling, Easy to Use,
    Personalized and
    Responsive
  • Bringing Web 2.0 into User Assistance
  • The ABCs of Adobe AIR
  • Adobe AIR Powers the Next Generation of Applications
  • Adobe AIR is the ultimate platform for Technical Documentation
  • Adobe AIR Building Blocks

I spent much of my time demonstrating some of the most compelling Adobe AIR applications and how they relate to Technical Communication. Here are links to these applications:

Finally, I also mentioned and recommended the following two books:


If you missed Adobe AIR for Technical Communicators, or want to watch it again, heres’ the recording. Please use your Adobe ID to access the recording.

TIP: I typically set my desktop resolution to 1024 x 768 for best recording results, however because I was showing apps, which require high resolution, you will notice some distortion in the demonstration part of the recording. Something you may want to try is to click the “Scroll” button at the bottom left of the Connect Pro window, which will help you zoom in closer and follow the action around the presenter’s mouse.  To the right is what the button looks like in all Connect Pro recordings.

Related Posts:

,,,

eSeminar Reminder: Adobe AIR 101 for Technical Communicators (12/03/09)

When: Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 9:00am Pacific Time

Registration: Click HERE to Register

Duration: 90 minutes to accommodate for questions

 

tweetmeme_url = ‘http://blogs.adobe.com/rjacquez/2009/11/new_eseminar_adobe_air_101_for.html’;
tweetmeme_source = ‘rjacquez’;

Login instructions: Once you register, you will receive a confirmation e-mail, which will include a URL for you to join the Connect Pro room the day of the event. I will conduct a series of audio tests as participants begin to join.

Click here to make sure your system is properly configured to participate in this Acrobat Connect Pro event.

Audio: The audio portion for the eSeminar will be available via your computer speakers ONLY, through Voice over IP (VoIP) and thus no phone number is provided

Description: The Adobe Integrated Runtime (AIR) platform continues to gain momentum with more than 200+ Million installations in less than two year and on 11/17/09 Adobe announced the availability of the public beta of Adobe AIR 2.0.

On December 15, 2008, eWeek Labs selected AIR as one of the Top 10 Products of the Year. eWEEK Labs staff wrote: “The product that comes closest right now to the true vision of this next-generation Web application is Adobe AIR. Descended from Flash, AIR makes it possible to build powerful and interactive applications that have all of the benefits of both Web and desktop apps …”

In this eSeminar, you will learn the ABCs of Adobe AIR and the reasons why AIR is the ultimate platform for the next generation of Technical Documentation. We will also go over the reasons why leading companies like the New York Times, eBay and TweetDeck are building powerful applications on Adobe AIR. And finally how Adobe is using AIR to deliver cutting edge Web 2.0 Community Help for our Adobe Technical Communication Suite 2 customers.

Related Recording:

 

,,,,,

Video: Importing vs. Linking in Adobe RoboHelp 8

One of the most frequently asked questions I get from customers is regarding the differences between Importing FrameMaker and/or Word document versus Dynamically Linking these files in Adobe RoboHelp.  

tweetmeme_url = ‘http://blogs.adobe.com/rjacquez/2009/12/video_importing_vs_linking_in.html’;
tweetmeme_source = ‘rjacquez’;

As I often do when highlighting a particular feature in one of my Adobe apps, I have put together a short how-to video recording to illustrate the differences. The video is only 14 minutes long and can be launched by clicking HERE.

Hope you like it and thanks for watching it and for using Adobe RoboHelp!

,,,,,,