Multi-Author Environments call for Shared and Reusable Resources

Wednesday, May 25 2011 @ 2:15 PM, By Ankur Jain

Adobe RoboHelp 9 helps teams of multiple authors do more with less! A key component of team-collaboration is to share reusable resources/assets that can be “live linked”, so that the author knows when the original file has been changed, and can easily/automatically reflect that change in the content. This is a much enhanced benefit that goes beyond the separate workflow for linking Adobe FrameMaker and Microsoft Word documents.

Sharing reusable content in RoboHelp with multiple authors
Resource Manager in RoboHelp 9 helps you maintain resources such as images, multimedia, Cascading Style Sheets, snippets, and baggage files in a shared network or perhaps on your local computer. Multiple authors can use/link these resources across multiple RoboHelp projects and manage them from the Resource Manager pod in RoboHelp.

See Resource Manager in action – click the play button to view the demonstration:

View video in a new browser window

Resource Manager lets each author create as many Asset Folders as desired.

Drag and drop to create a link – Use an asset presented inside the Resource Manager pod by dragging from the pod to the project. That creates a link so that when the original graphic is changed, the RoboHelp author is notified and given the option to update to the new version. This can be used across different RoboHelp Projects among many authors. You can also drag files and folders between Resource Manager and Windows Explorer. Drag images, style sheets, etc. from Project Manager to Resource Manager. Drag master pages between the Project Set-up pod and Resource Manager. Drag snippets from Resource Manager to topics (RoboHelp updates the Snippets pod).

Asset links prevent duplication, reduce effort, and maintain consistency – When RoboHelp 9 establishes a link between any resource in the Resource Manager, it scans both the Project and Resource Manager locations periodically to see if anything has changed. If an asset is changed in some way, RoboHelp notifies you of the change. Then, you are able to easily update the project by clicking Sync.

I hope you will find the Resource Manager functionality in RoboHelp 9 useful. If you like it, please consider sharing this post with your Twitter followers by clicking the Tweet button above.

Ankur Jain
Product Manager – Technical Communication Suite | RoboHelp
Follow me on Twitter: @ankurjain8

COMMENTS

  • By Urmisen2003 - 4:59 PM on February 27, 2012  

    Ankur,  For some reason I am unable to link resources in a Shared location to the project. Neither can i view the resources in the folder in the shared location. I can create files and folders on the network drive that houses the shared location.  So, I am assuming it is not a permissions issue – even though windows level authentication is being performed.  Could you help?  Thank you!!

    • By Ankur Jain - 6:43 AM on February 28, 2012  

      Urmi, I presume you are using RoboHelp 9 (earlier versions don’t support linking in Resource Manager). Please check the settings in Tools>Options>Resource Manager to ensure ‘Use shared resources’ is set to ‘As linked’. You should be able to drag and drop resources from Resource Manager to RoboHelp Topic, and those resources will be linked.

      I hope this helps.

      Ankur

    • By Ankur Jain - 7:24 AM on February 28, 2012  

      Urmi, I presume you are using RoboHelp 9 (earlier versions don’t support linking in Resource Manager). Please check the settings in Tools>Options>Resource Manager to ensure ‘Use shared resources’ is set to ‘As linked’. You should be able to drag and drop resources from Resource Manager to RoboHelp Topic, and those resources will be linked.

      I hope this helps.

      Ankur

  • By Hemal Patel - 12:47 PM on April 5, 2013  

    Ankur, will Resource Manager warn me for any deletion of files from the shared location? I understand that when we drag a file from RM it actually imports that file into the project. Thus, creates a local copy. So, even if the source is deleted, it will still continue to show the local copy. But, is there a chance it will inform the author about the deletion of the file from the shared location?

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Authors

  • Useful Links

  • Recent Comments

    • Dieter Gust: Very nice several goodies in addition to bugfixes!! I like that very much! Dieter
    • Don Bridges: I expect privacy concerns will tamper IoT for our homes and consumers, but for business it will usher a...
    • Lois Patterson: I’m always happy to see math support, although I’m not currently using FrameMaker. I have...
    • Olga: I know it’s a really old post but I was unable to find any information online. I need to number the...
    • click: yes. http://wwwimages.adobe.com/www .adobe.com/content/dam/Adobe/e n/volume-licensing/pdfs/avl...