Selectively Sync folders on your computer using Creative Cloud


app-icon-cc-ios Did you know that you can selectively sync folders from Creative Cloud on your computers? Well, you’re in august company; till a few moments ago neither did I! If you’ve been waiting for it, skip the next section and jump ahead. If you’re wondering whether you’ll ever need this, take a minute or two and see why I find it extremely useful.

 

Why I think this is useful?

As you already know, Creative Cloud makes it very easy to share content with others. You can also share folders and collaborate with others and the group can then collectively work on the files in that folder. Using the Creative Cloud app for desktop, you can sync all files to your computer. Desktop sync works really well to keep my files updated on all my connected computers.

In addition to inviting team members to collaborate with me, I also get invited to collaborate with others. On accepting the invitation, I get access to the shared folder, and all the files get synced to my computers. Now, at any given time, I’m a driver on only a couple of projects. I contribute to a few, but am kept in the loop about the whole bunch of work that the team is doing. I’m usually not interested in syncing all shared folders on my computers. For example, I don’t want to sync especially large projects on my laptop. I’ll never work on them from home or on the move. They’ll just eat up space and bandwidth. This feature gives me the ability to selectively sync the folders I am interested in, on a particular computer.

Earlier, it was either all or nothing. Now, I can selectively sync folders. And you can too :-)

Selectively Sync folders

To selectively sync folders, you need the following:

  • The latest version of the Creative Cloud app for desktop app
  • File Sync is ON
  • At least one accepted invitation to join a collaboration.
  • That’s about it.

Open Finder or Explorer and right-click on Creative Cloud Files, and then deselect the folders you don’t want to sync.

selective-sync-folders

 

That’s it. However, if you need extra details, see How to choose which folders to Sync.

Btw, the Creative Cloud desktop app does a lot more than just sync files and folders. To learn more, see Creative cloud for desktop help page.

 

 

 

 

, ,

  1. #1 by Doug on April 29, 2015 - 4:42 pm

    Ah yes, yet another in the slew of features and software only available to Apple users.

    • #2 by Vikrant on May 1, 2015 - 12:28 am

      It’s available on both Windows and Mac.

  2. #3 by Antoine on October 12, 2015 - 12:41 pm

    Doesn’t work on the latest version of OS X :(
    Any idea on how to fix this ??

  3. #4 by Khoa Tran on January 6, 2016 - 12:52 am

    There is no option for this on Windows 10. I’m running the latest CC app (3.4.3.189) as of this writing. I’ve tried looking everywhere. Hopefully they will fix this soon.

  4. #5 by Mike on January 20, 2016 - 5:36 pm

    It doesn’t work neither on Mac OS X Yosemite nor on Windows 10! Has anyone found a solution?

  5. #6 by Mike on January 21, 2016 - 5:09 pm

    This feature doesn’t exist… They have never heard of it and they saw on forums that doesnt exist…

    That is what I was told from customer service.

  6. #7 by Wouter on June 6, 2016 - 3:44 pm

    This feature is badly thought out. Why does it require that it be a collaboration? For instance, I have the same CC account on my desktop and on my laptop, on my laptop it’s not possible to selectively sync the files I need on my laptop and have to have everything… Am I correct in understanding this? if so it’s an unbelievable oversight.

(will not be published)