Shantanu Narayen Receives I3A Leadership Award

On Saturday night, the International Imaging Industry Association (I3A) recognized Adobe President and CEO Shantanu Narayen with its annual Leadership Award. I3A Treasurer and Leadership Award Committee Chair Daryl Hunt, Director of Standards Strategy at the Eastman Kodak Company, presented the award at the PMDA Awards Dinner in conjunction with the PMA photo industry conference and trade show held in Anaheim.

Shantanu couldn’t make it to the award ceremony in person, so he gave a short acceptance via video. Adobe Vice-President of Imaging Kevin Connor accepted the award in person on Shantanu’s behalf. Kevin noted the terrific timing of this award, with Photoshop hitting its 20th anniversary this month.

Awarded annually for two decades, I3A’s Leadership Award each year recognizes one individual in the international imaging community who has exhibited the exemplary qualities and innovative vision of a leader. Recent recipients of the award include Atsushi Kodera of Kyocera Sanyo Telecom, Inc. (2009); Makoto Kimura of the Nikon Imaging Company (2008); Antonio Perez of Kodak (2007); Fumio Iwai of Konica Minolta Holdings, Inc. (2006); and Vyomesh Joshi of HP (2005).

Shantanu was recognized not only for his leadership of Adobe, but also his early pioneering work in consumer photo sharing at the company Pictra, Inc. which he co-founded.


  1. Luban

    Congratulations. I just need informations about I3A and they work for my graduation work. Thanks Adobe and one more time congratulations.

  2. sudhindra chada

    Congrats to Mr.Narayen for his pioneering work done. Great Kudos
    to Mr. Shantanu Narayen..

    I am a final year MS-MBA student from Boston University.

    regards ….. sudhindra