Supporting a New Generation of Creatives and Changemakers

Today’s young creatives have unprecedented influence on the world around them. They are igniting discussions on social and environmental issues with creativity that can transcend global boundaries. Using digital story making, they can translate personal experiences and perspectives into media that has the power to create real change in communities around the world.

As part of Adobe’s commitment to this next generation of creatives, we have selected 25 students for this year’s class of Adobe Creativity Scholars. Launched in 2013, the program now supports 75 students in post-secondary education and creative pursuits.

Chosen from 12 countries around the world, the students have all participated in the global Adobe Youth Voices (AYV) program where they learned to how to create media with purpose. These young filmmakers, social entrepreneurs, and artists were selected due to their strong academic performance, leadership and global awareness.

“Adobe and AYV gave me the confidence to dream of pursuing a career in film and an outlet to express my frustration artistically,” scholar Ayanda Chisholm says. Her film, Black Beauty in the White Gaze, brings light to the historically underrepresented, including LGBTQ communities, women and people of color.

Scholar Christine Chung (Canada), who created the animation piece Hunger’s Core, says AYV has encouraged her to be a more purposeful creator. “We are on an ever-going exploration of ourselves and what gave us substance as artists,” she says. “We are learning about our own capabilities to influence.”

“I believe that everybody has the potential to do and be anything they want. They just need a bit of encouragement from the right people,” scholar Maya Hirota (USA), creator of the film Aphelion, says. “Thank you, Adobe Youth Voices, for being the right people for me.”

Congratulations to the 2015 Adobe Creativity Scholars:

  • Yamilet Acevedo – USA
  • Paulo Sebastian Aguirre Tuma – United Kingdom
  • Ayah Benberna – United Kingdom
  • Kyle Bent – USA
  • Micaela Bolaños – Mexico
  • Victoria Bruno – USA
  • Andreea Cârjan – Romania
  • Ayanda Chisholm – USA
  • Christine Chung – Canada
  • Ximena Gabilondo – Mexico
  • Maya Hirota – USA
  • Jessy Kalala – Ireland
  • Rachel Lam – USA
  • Aleson Matoso – Brazil
  • Tia Morrison – Canada
  • Sikha Patra – India
  • Marco Antonio Perez Poma – Peru
  • Victor Portillo Garcia – El Salvador
  • Abdelhadi Qasrawi – Jordan
  • Abdullah Quick – USA
  • Angela Rowe – USA
  • Revathi S – India
  • Mahmoud Sadek – Egypt
  • Edwin Salgado – USA
  • Salim Shekh – India

We are extremely proud of the 2015 class of Adobe Creativity Scholars, and look forward to seeing where they will take their talent and creativity next!

Patricia Cogley is manager, Adobe Youth Voices.