Adobe Creative Cloud

How-to: Installing Creative Cloud Updates

We’ve had our ear to the ground, and have heard you loud and clear about needing more choices around how you install applications and manage older versions.

Beginning with the next major release of the Creative Cloud desktop apps, it’ll be simpler than ever to update your apps to the latest versions. You will now have a choice when installing applications to have the install update to the latest version and remove old versions, or to install the latest version and keep old versions around (which you can uninstall on your own later).

Based on your feedback, previous versions will be uninstalled by default, and all preferences and settings will be migrated to the new version. Of course, you’re in control, so if you want to keep the old versions around, or change whether settings are migrated to the new release, you will have the option to do so as part of the install process.

06.15.15_HowToInstall_AppAdvanced Options
To install the latest version without uninstalling the previous version:

  1. Within the Update Dialog Box, click the arrow to the right of Advanced Options to expose those settings.
  2. Uncheck “Remove old versions.”
  3. Click “Update.”

It’s that simple. Now the choice is yours.

Apps & Services, Learn

Join the discussion

  • By Peter - 3:40 AM on June 16, 2015  

    what we really want is a MASTER COLLECTION package. all in one.

  • By George - 7:02 AM on June 16, 2015  

    Will we have to make new project files for the updated version like we had to with 2014? Because that can seriously be annoying with relinking aep projects with premiere.

  • By Mariano - 9:14 AM on June 16, 2015  

    When trim change a clip now it shows half the screen and the other half screen the clip near to the begin or end of the clip I’m editing. but it doesn’t work properly sometimes doesn’t show while I trim. anyway to change this like it was before just showing the clip I’m trimming. I’m in a rush edting and this is killing me !

  • By Brett - 11:18 AM on June 16, 2015  

    Having the same issue as Mariano above. Working with native 4K footage from the Panasonic GH4. Using FilmConvert plugin as well. Adobe needs to fix this. Literally makes the update useless.

    “When trim change a clip now it shows half the screen and the other half screen the clip near to the begin or end of the clip I’m editing. but it doesn’t work properly sometimes doesn’t show while I trim. anyway to change this like it was before just showing the clip I’m trimming. I’m in a rush edting and this is killing me !”

    • By kmonahan - 11:50 AM on June 16, 2015  

      Hey there Brett,
      Perhaps I’m misunderstanding this issue. Can you post a screen shut of exactly what you’re seeing in our forum: http://bit.ly/PPro-forum

      Thanks,
      Kevin

  • By kmonahan - 11:25 AM on June 16, 2015  

    Hi Mariano,
    Trimming with the Selection tool in Premiere Pro CC 2015 does bring up a 2-up oriented display in the Program Monitor, much the way the Ripple Trim tool works in Premiere Pro CC 2014. It seems to work perfectly for me. If you continue to have trouble with this issue, head over to the forum where we can discuss the issue a little more easily: http://bit.ly/PPro-forum

    Thanks,
    Kevin

  • By kmonahan - 1:25 PM on June 16, 2015  

    Hi Mariano, Hi Brett,
    Do you have composite preview during trim option checked or unchecked in the wrench icon of the timeline?Disable it and try again. Does that work?

    Thanks,
    Kevikn

    • By Mariano - 1:51 PM on June 16, 2015  

      thank you so much Kevin!!! turning composite preview during trim off did the trick!
      Now I can trim the way I used to.

  • By Guillermo - 4:14 PM on June 16, 2015  

    When I saw the install for 2015 I did NOT have a choice as indicated above! The UPDATE all simply removed previous applications! It is really wrong to have the default be remove previous applications as it did to on my computer.

  • By Sam - 9:00 AM on June 17, 2015  

    Is there a way to go back to the old version if it gets deleted by the install? I lost a lot of plugin functionality.

  • By JoeM - 1:39 PM on June 17, 2015  

    Very disappointed that Adobe opted for a poorly-announced mostly-hidden destructive default for the installation software. At a minimum the user should be forced to make a choice (no default) with a clear explanation of the major implications of each option.

  • By Daniel Redding - 6:02 AM on June 24, 2015  

    https://forums.adobe.com/message/7684845#7684845

    Same problem as Mariano.. screen shots and detailed explanation in link. It’s VERY annoying. The whole program also just seems to run MUCH slower than before.