by Julieanne Kost

 Comments (6)

Created

May 17, 2011

The option to store presets and templates with a specific catalog is particularly useful when there is a need for the photographer to work on several different computers. For example, in an educational “lab” environment, a student might have all of their images and catalog on an external drive making it easy to move from one machine to another during each “open lab” session. If they choose Preferences > Presets > Location  and check the “Store Presets with Catalog” option, any user-created preset (such as metadata templates, develop presets etc.) will be stored within the same folder as the associated catalog (instead of in the default location).  The advantage is that whichever computer you launch your Lightroom catalog on, you will see your presets and only your presets (as opposed to all of the other students’ presets).

If, however, you are working on a single computer, I would suggest that you do NOT check the “Store Presets with Catalog” option. Instead, save your presets (and templates) to the default location so that your presets will be accessible if you decide to create multiple catalogs.

 

COMMENTS

  • By Mike Nelson Pedde - 8:20 AM on May 17, 2011  

    I prefer the Store Presets With Catalog option because it keeps everything in one place. In the Pictures folder on my computer I have all of my images stored in various subfolders, and within the Pictures folder there is a Lightroom folder. Within the Lightroom folder are folders for my LR2 and LR3 catalogues and there are also folders for presets, templates, etc. I know where everything is and I can back up everything by backing up the Pictures folder.

  • By Edward Allen - 12:50 PM on October 15, 2011  

    Hi Julieanne
    I’m just mulling over the best way to handle this issue, and I would like to use the “Store Presets with Catalog” option, but each calendar year I create a new Catalogue for the coming years images. In this scenario, is there a way to ensure I can “roll forward” all the presets etc to my 2012 Catalogue please?

    Thanks in advance

  • By Julieanne Kost - 11:27 AM on October 17, 2011  

    Yes, uncheck the preference and quit LR. LR will write the settings tothe default location:

    • Mac (user)/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Lightroom

    • Win (user)/ Application Data/Adobe/Lightroom

    Then and then create your new catalog and then check the option again to have LR store presets with the catalog.

  • By Troy Paulus - 8:57 AM on December 8, 2011  

    Thanks for explaining, but now with backing up and having the box unchecked, guess i would have to backup the folder “Mac (user)/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Lightroom” on top of the catalog backups when i do my backups?

  • By Susan - 3:25 AM on April 20, 2012  

    Hi Julieanne,

    I was just wondering with the identity plate is there anyway to save the presets so they can be used across all catalogs? I’m currently using LR3. What’s your suggestions for workflow, would you use multiple catalogs for each client/shoot?

    Many thanks
    Susan