by Julieanne Kost

 Comments (3)

Created

September 20, 2011

When importing files into Lightroom and choosing either “Copy” or “Copy as DNG” there is an option under File Handling to “Make a Second Copy To”, which sometimes gives unanticipated results. Let me explain. The “Make a Second Copy to” feature was created for photographers who wanted a simple way to create a secondary copy of the original files on import – a copy of the originals is what’s key here. They want these files in their “pure” state – without any software making ANY changes to them.

So, if you make changes to the files when importing them (renaming, adding metadata etc.), the changes will only be made to the imported files – not the second copy.

Unfortunately, for those of you who want a copy of the converted files (which have been renamed, metadata added etc.), this can not happen during the Import stage (not that it would be impossible to do at some point in the future, but it’s currently not possible through Lightroom).

Perhaps this would be a great time to remind everyone that if you want to request a feature,  the best place to do that is here… http://feedback.photoshop.com/photoshop_family

COMMENTS

  • By Roy Booth - 7:55 AM on September 20, 2011  

    Shame they then put the second copy into an imported on date folder and you can’t turn it off. Why can’t we also have a tick box mirror 1st copy foldername to save copying and pasting the folder name.

  • By Ciprian - 8:08 PM on June 12, 2012  

    Thanks for your help Julieanne! I have a weird issue. When I import my files from the SD card as Copy, I select make a secondary copy, but those files do get renamed don’t know why? I thought only copy as DNG renames the secondary backup.

    Could you please help me?

    Thanks,
    Ciprian