by Julieanne Kost

 Comments (4)

Created

July 11, 2013

The new Sync Settings feature in Photoshop CC uses your Adobe ID to synchronize your settings between the two software installs allowed in the license agreement (your home and work computer for example).

To sync settings between your computers, (at work and at home for example), select Photoshop > (UserID) > Sync Settings and choose which settings you want to sync. Available settings include: Preferences, Actions, Brushes, Swatches, Styles, Gradients, Custom Shapes, Patterns, Contours and Tool Presets. This will sync (upload) the settings from this computer to your Creative Cloud account.

Note: You must have internet access and be signed in to your Adobe account to sync settings. To sign in, choose Help > Sign In.  

Then, on your second computer, (using your second install of Photoshop), select Photoshop > (UserID) > Sync Settings. This will sync (copy) the settings from the cloud to this computer.

In order to manage what settings to sync as well as what should happen if conflicts arise , select Photoshop > (UserID) > Manage Settings (or, select  Preferences > Sync Settings). If you don’t want certain settings to sync, simply uncheck them. When conflicts occur, (meaning that you have settings that are different on the local computer and the cloud), choose to either keep the remote or local settings (local is referring to the local computer and remote is referring to the settings in the cloud).

Note: you are always in control of when you sync your settings (i.e. there is not an option to “auto sync settings” – they will only sync when you select “Sync Settings Now”). 

And don’t forget, you can always sync your settings on a single machine/single install which can really save time when upgrading your machine or when bad things happen (like a drive goes down that has your settings/applications on it).

COMMENTS

  • By RonBoyd - 3:12 AM on July 12, 2013  

    You say go to the “Photoshop” option of the Dropdown Menu Toolbar. I don’t have such an option — my choices are File, Edit, Image, Layer, Type, Select, Filter, 3D, View, Window, and Help.

    When I go to Edit/Preferences/Sync Settings, I am not signed in and was never Synced. I have logged in to my Adobe Account online with Internet Explorer. And under the /Help dropdown menu is “Sign Out (my Adobe user name)”

    What am I missing?

  • By RonBoyd - 3:39 AM on July 12, 2013  

    I see. The “Photoshop” option is a Mac thing. I have a PC. In any event, going to “Edit > [your Adobe ID] > Sync Settings Now” does not work because I lack the “[your Adobe ID] ” option. “Sync Settings Now” option is visible but only takes me to the “Preferences” area as described in previous post.

  • By Michael Lloyd - 7:15 PM on July 21, 2013  

    My CC says that synch is coming soon not here.

    • By Julieanne Kost - 2:47 PM on July 24, 2013  

      Sorry for any confusion, this post is on sync settings in Photoshop, not the ability to sync files using the creative cloud sync application.