50/50 – Sync Settings in Photoshop CC

Adobe Photoshop

The new Sync Settings feature in Photoshop CC uses your Adobe ID to synchronize your settings between the two software installs allowed in the license agreement (your home and work computer for example). To specify which settings to synchronize, choose Preferences > Sync Settings. Available settings include: Preferences, Workspaces, Actions, Brushes, Swatches, Styles, Gradients, Custom Shapes, Patterns, Contours and Tool Presets.

2014_09_14Sync1

Use the drop down menu in the Advanced area to choose “What to Sync”: “Everything” checks all options, “Custom” allows you to select specific settings, and “Nothing” unchecks all and deactivates the upload/download transfers.

To synchronize the settings from one computer to another:

Select the “master computer” the one that has the modified settings and choose “Upload Settings” (either from Photoshop > Your AdobeID Sign On or Preferences > Sync Settings). This will take all the non-factory settings files (ie. the settings that you have modified) and upload them to your AdobeID’s Creative Cloud account. Any files with the same names will be overwritten; there is no conflict resolution.

• Then, move to the secondary computer (that you want to download the settings onto), and choose “Download Settings” (either from Photoshop > Your AdobeID Sign On or Preferences > Sync Settings). This will take all the settings files* from your Creative Cloud account and download them to the local machine. Any files with the same names will be overwritten; there is no conflict resolution.

Note: *workspaces that are created/uploaded from a different platform will not be downloaded.

Additional Information:

You must have Internet access and be signed in to your Adobe account to sync settings. To sign in, choose Help > Sign In.

• You are always in control of when you sync your settings (i.e. there is not an option to “auto sync settings” – they will only sync when you select “Sync Settings Now”).

• Even if you only have one computer (a single machine/single install) , you can always sync your settings to your Creative Cloud account which can really save time when upgrading your machine or when bad things happen (like a drive goes down that has your settings/applications on it).

• There are settings that are specific to the machine running the application (such as Memory Usage and Scratch Disks options), and these are not included in the synchronization feature.


Adobe Photoshop

Posted on 09-19-2014


Comments

  • By Matt O'Brien - 6:39 AM on September 19, 2014  

    Can I backup my settings.

  • By Ron - 7:15 PM on September 20, 2014  

    The sync seems to work for me but… not on workspaces. I uploaded from my iMac and downloaded to my MacBook Pro (both running OS X 10.9.5 and the workspaces never showed on the MBP. Any ideas for what’s going on?