Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5 was updated this week (5.7 update) to include Lightroom Mobile Commenting. Essentially this enables you to collect your own comments from your mobile device or both your own/public comments via the Lightroom web based interface. Using the Lightroom web based interface, means that you can now collect comments and feedback from your clients, customers or your family and friends.
NB. Lightroom mobile is only available via the Creative Cloud Subscription (including the Creative Cloud Photography Bundle).
Within Lightroom on the desktop it’s simple to make your photographs (RAW, PSD, TIFF etc) files accessible on your iPad or iPhone or the web interface.
Let us take these images. They have all been selected (as you can see marked in yellow, as they have the light grey background).
To add the selected images or to just create a new collection, click on the ‘+’ icon (marked in red) next to the Collection panel. A dialog box will be displayed, which will allow a Collection to be configured, and enable this Collection to sync to Lightroom mobile. In the dialog box, just give the Collection a meaningful name. The check box ‘include selected photos’ will make sure that all images that are selected in Lightroom desktop will be included, and the ‘Sync with Lightroom mobile’ check box will enable this Collection to take part in the Lightroom mobile activity.
Once this has been actioned, Lightroom desktop will start to sync the files to the Creative Cloud (marked yellow), then publish to a private folder on Lightroom mobile. A new button has also been added (marked in blue), which will allow the Collection to be shared publicly. Anyone with the Public URL will be able to view the contents. (NB. the Collection will not be available to search engine crawlers, do you will need to provide the link to your viewers).
There is also a context menu available on the Collection, this is found by using a right click on the Collection name (marked in red above/below). Once the context menu is shown (see below), an option to access Lightroom mobile links can be used to turn on and control the mobile features. From here the collection can also be made public by selecting the ‘Share Collection’ or you can view the collection in the web view.
Once the Collection has been shared, distributing the public URL from Lightroom desktop is easy. The public URL (as shown in green below) on on the Collection definition.
The shared Collection also has a fly out menu (marked green below). Using a right click on the public URL, as shown below, allows copying it to the clipboard for pasting into other communication services (email, iMessage, twitter etc).
In Lightroom mobile web view, the access type is shown by the Collection name. Notice the lock at the top of the page, this signifies that the collection is private and only available via your Adobe ID (both on the web and via Lightroom mobile on the mobile device).
This collection looks exactly the same on the mobile device. Functionality for each collection can be found by touching the 3 dots (marked in yellow below).
Once the 3 dots have been selected, a menu will appear.
A new option to Share the web collection in Lightroom 5.7 has been added. Touching this option will show and enable the sharing options.
Sharing will immediately make this collection viewable by anyone with the URL.
The link is sharable directly from the mobile device as soon as the collection has been made public. Sharing options will utilise the iOS options, services like email, twitter, iMessage are available (plus others, depending on the apps that you have installed).
N.B. The collection can also be made non public at anytime, by Unsharing it.
Once the collection has been made public, it can be used to collect comments from the viewers.
When a viewer opens the Public URL they will be able to navigate around the collection and view single images at any time. On the bottom right hand side (marked in red), viewers can add comments as well as likes the image(s).
Likes can be created by clicking the heart icon (marked in red below), and comments created by typing into the comments field (marked in yellow below). Likes and comments are show in the list above (marked blue and green below).
Comments can be removed by the viewer, by hovering over the comment and a trash option will be displayed.
Once clicked, the comment(s) will be removed.
Once a comment has been added to an image, the comments will be synced back to the collection in Lightroom Desktop. A notification in yellow will be shown in the top left (marked in red), also, a small comments icon will appear on the collection (marked in yellow). A context menu is available by right clicking on the collection (as shown in blue). Selecting the Review comments will show the comments that have been added.
Comments will be shown in the comments panel (marked in red), for the image (marked in yellow).
Any comments that are received are also available on the mobile device